2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive review | Road tests | Auto123

BMW i4 M50 xDrive 2022, profile

Auto123 updatestest drive the 2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive.

When I got behind the wheel of the Porsche Taycan a little over a year ago, I was pretty sure I had found the rare pearl in the electric…and high-performance segment! Since then, a few other purely electric cars have taken refuge in my driveway, but none of them have managed to eclipse the performance of this beautiful German, with the exception of the Audi RS e-tron GT, a very close cousin of the Taycan, moreover, which delivered the goods on several levels.

Fate willed that I got my hands on three electric crossovers (Volkswagen ID.4, Hyundai Ioniq 5 and Kia EV6) just days before taking my seat in this new 2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive, a five-door sedan that I was waiting with a firm footing, I have to confess. Of the trio, it was the EV6 that impressed me the most, but I didn’t believe that the first electric “behemoth” – the BMW i3 was not as playful as the brand’s legendary models – was going to seduce me. so much.

Here, in a few points, is why I literally fell in love with this beautiful Bavarian.

See the vehicles for sale available near you

BMW i4 M50 xDrive 2022, front

BMW i4 M50 xDrive 2022, front

It’s a 4 Series Gran Coupe.
For this first car – or five-door sedan if you prefer the official name – BMW’s strategists preferred to play the card of discretion. At first glance, the BMW i4 looks like any other last-generation 4 Series Gran Coupé, but on second glance, one notices the “full grille”, the blue details (in the optical blocks or even around the brand crest) and that’s about it!

And you know what, this stealth is perfect for anyone hoping to blend in with heavy traffic.

2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive, interior

2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive, interior

The rounded screen
Regulars of the Series 3/Series 4 range will not be too disoriented, because the majority of the atmosphere of the gasoline models is back; the center console, the steering wheel, the lower portion of the dashboard, the interior volume, the seats, all these components belong to the CLAR platform, the same used for the majority of models within the range.

But, there is this curved screen which holds all the attention as soon as you take your seat on board, a solution observed a few days earlier at the wheel of the Kia EV6. I really like BMW’s approach, which hasn’t tried to integrate this vast electronic panel as is the case with Kia or Cadillac in the Escalade, for example. No, the screen looks like an ordinary screen that has been installed over the existing board.

Either way, it’s what’s on the screen that counts and the quality of the graphics is worth mentioning here. The response of the latter is excellent and I even found myself enjoying the tactile buttons for the air conditioning, although I still prefer good old buttons!

2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive, three-quarter rear

2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive, three-quarter rear

For the power
This M50 xDrive variant is not only advantaged by its all-wheel drive when winter sets in – or for any other slippery road condition after all – but the presence of a motor at each axle increases the power available to – hold on well – 536 horsepower and an even more mind-boggling 586 lb-ft of torque. Of course, the nirvana of sportiness is reached when you press the Sport button, which has the effect of stiffening the steering and improving the reactions of the powertrain.

And there is this artificial sound that follows the pace of the car. It’s very futuristic as an atmosphere, and the simple fact of adding a soundtrack to driving transforms the driving experience. Yes, it’s true that enthusiasts will miss the inline 6-cylinder engine, but at the risk of repeating myself, the BMW i4 is a completely different animal from the “regular” 4 Series.

Meanwhile, gas prices…
… worries many motorists who are wondering how they are going to get through the next few months with the cost of living which continues to rise in parallel. Let’s face it, those worried motorists probably can’t afford a BMW i5 M50 xDrive that costs (with options) around $90,000. If they want to go electric, they will have to aim lower in the automotive food chain.

My point is that it feels good to have so much fun in a sports sedan and not spend more than $100 on a high-octane fill-up. Converts who already drive a performance electric vehicle know this. When you get home, all you have to do is plug the car into the Level 2 charging station and the next day the battery is ready for another day on the road.

By the way, the BMW i4 M50 xDrive is capable of driving a distance of 435 km when the battery is fully charged. When taking the keys to the vehicle, the announced range was more like 400 km and the next day after a night out and a battery still full, the possible distance had just dropped to around 300 km. In short, there is still work to be done to increase the possible distance, but the BMW i4 is not the only electric car to suffer when it is cold.

BMW i4 M50 xDrive 2022, fire, crest

BMW i4 M50 xDrive 2022, fire, crest

A well-crafted car
And what is good with this electric 4 Series is that the quality of other BMW products is the same on board this electric variant. I did not detect any creaking or annoying body noise during my few days of testing, nor even a panel that came off due to any assembly. And the paint was still firmly in place on the body, an issue that plagues many Tesla owners.

The final word
I admit it, I am still one of the skeptics about the future of automotive electrics. It’s my nostalgic side that takes over here; I have great difficulty conceiving that the car as we have known it since the end of the 19th century will eventually disappear. But if the electric car of the future is as good to drive as this 2022 i4 M50 xDrive, there might be hope for those who love to drive.

And frankly, this review piques my curiosity even more about the eDrive40 livery, a version equipped with a single motor mounted on the rear axle and which comes with 335 horsepower under the right foot and two-wheel drive. But for this one, we will have to wait for the test drive before deciding.

2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive, three-quarter front

2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive, three-quarter front

WE love

The discreet design
Amazing performances
The handling of a BMW

We love less

The added weight (batteries)
The asking price
The possible distance

The main competition

Tesla Model 3
Polestar 2
Mercedes-Benz EQE (coming soon)

BMW i4 M50 xDrive 2022, grille

BMW i4 M50 xDrive 2022, grille

2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive review Road tests

experts

1649189164 14 2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive review Road tests

Consumers

Pictures of the 2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive

We want to thank the author of this write-up for this awesome web content

2022 BMW i4 M50 xDrive review | Road tests | Auto123


We have our social media profiles here as well as additional related pages here.https://metfabtech.com/related-pages/